Skip to main content
Associate Professor Liesa Kyer

Associate Professor Liesa Kyer Receives 2023 ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award

Associate Professor Liesa Kyer, who chairs the Healthcare Management department at BridgeValley Community & Technical College in South Charleston, West Virginia, has been selected as a regional winner of the 2023 ACBSP Teaching Excellence Award. This award is presented annually by the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP) to recognize exceptional educators who demonstrate teaching excellence in their classrooms. 

Along with other regional winners, Professor Kyer will be honored at the ACBSP Conference 2023, which will take place in Chicago, IL from June 29 to July 2. As a regional recipient, she will receive a $500 check and a crystal medallion. In addition, two International Teaching Excellence Award winners will be announced at the Annual Business Meeting & Town Hall Forum and will be recognized at the ACBSP Accreditation and Awards Gala. The international awards are given to one recipient from an associate degree-granting institution and one from a baccalaureate/graduate degree-granting institution. Associate Professor Kyer will be considered for the international award as a regional winner. 

The International Teaching Excellence Award was established by the ACBSP Associate Degree Commission in 1995 to acknowledge exceptional classroom instructors. The Baccalaureate Degree Commission established a similar award in 2002 to recognize teaching excellence at the baccalaureate/graduate degree level. The ACBSP is the sole accrediting organization for business schools that presents an award for teaching excellence, which is open to all members of the organization. 

Jeffrey Alderman, the President and CEO of ACBSP, emphasized the significance of business programs producing graduates who are ready to enter the global market. 

 “ACBSP has a mission to develop, promote and recognize best practices that contribute to continuous improvement of business education. Recognition of teaching excellence is one way we achieve this goal,” he stated.